Posted by: Rational Voice | July 28, 2010

Chevy Volt

The Chevy Volt is on its way to your local dealership. Hippie liberals and tree huggers are applauding this electric car but before we get too happy about this thing, lets examine it a bit. The Volt costs $41,000 but it only gets 40 miles on a charge (which means you better not go farther than 20 miles from home), but that’s assuming the battery life is truly what they say it is. I’ve never had the battery life last anywhere as long as they’ve said on any electronic device I’ve had. Don’t worry though, when your battery runs out it switches over to a gas engine which will take you about 300 miles!

That sounds like a car I want because I have never, ever, in my entire life, driven 40 miles at once. Oh wait, I have and do so regularly. It does have the gas engine, but doesn’t that defeat the point of having an electric car? And from what I’ve heard you can’t just hook it up to the outlet in your garage. You’ll have to get a converter for it. And it takes 3-4 hours to charge it up to get that 40 miles, so it’s very quick and convenient. Oh, and President Obama has made it clear that he is not a fan of the coal industry, so once coal is gone, have fun trying to plug your car in the charge it, especially if you live in an area that doesn’t have nuclear or hydroelectric power available. If you don’t, coal will be your friend, so yea, guess what, despite you having an electric car you’re not free of fossil fuels!  So much for being a “green” person.

On another note, I’m willing to bet it takes more energy (and costs more) to charge that thing to go its impressive 40 miles than it would take to drive the same distance on the gas engine. This is just a guess of mine and I have nothing to back it up, but it wouldn’t surprise me if it was true. If it is true, so much for it being “green,” which brings me to my next point.

Don’t get me wrong here, I’m not advocating that we forsake trying to be more fuel efficient and lessen our impact on the environment, but the technology to make “green” energy a viable alternative just doesn’t exist yet. I think we should keep working towards it but it’ll be years before alternative energy sources are as cheap and efficient as gas. We will get there in the future but we can’t force the solution. Forced solutions never work. The market and technology will find the solution.

My last point is on the cost. It may cost $41,000 but don’t worry, there are tax credits! If this thing is really so good, why do we need tax credits for it? Things like this should be forced to stand alone, allowing the market to ultimately decide if this a good buy. We don’t subsidize other technologies. I didn’t get a tax credit for my iPhone. Nobody did but the thing still is probably the most popular cell phone out there, despite its relative high costs. And wouldn’t these tax credits decrease government revenue since the money isn’t being brought into the Treasury? Instead of giving tax credits for the Volt, I say we sit back, watch it on the free market, and see if it sinks or swims. With the way everything in GM’s realm has been going the last couple years, I’m guessing that it’s going to sink, and fast, especially with that battery.

Responses

  1. I’ve never thought the electric cars were worth much, but I’d never thought about them using more fossil fuel! Great point! I’m sure you are right!

  2. More on the true cost from the NYT of all places! For 50 billion dollars I think everyone in the country should just get it free. We already paid for it…

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/30/opinion/30neidermeyer.html?_r=2


Leave a Reply

Categories

